Once a document has been uploaded to a matter, it is possible to share it with any associated stakeholder. This help article will explain the relevant processes in detail.

In This Article:

  • How Do I Share a Document with a Stakeholder?
  • How Do I Make the Shared Document Private Again?
  • How Does the Stakeholder Access the Shared Document?

How Do I Share a Document with a Stakeholder?

Once a new document has been uploaded to a matter, begin by clicking on the 'Docs & Emails' tab within the relevant matter. 

Within 'Docs & Emails', scroll down to the relevant document. To the right of the document will be a control panel, as pictured below.

By default, a document will be set to 'Private'. When using this setting, the document will be hidden from all stakeholders. You will be the only person able to access the document. 

To change this setting, click on the 'Private' button. As pictured below, a new window will open. 

This window will list all stakeholders associated with the matter.

Note: Additional stakeholders may appear to the ones pictured above.

Simply click on the stakeholder to make a document visible to them. 

To highlight that the document is now visible to a stakeholder, the 'Private' button will now have changed to a 'Visible' button, as pictured above. 

How Do I Make the Shared Document Private Again?

As explained above, each document will have a control panel that contains a button to change the document's visibility settings. Follow the steps explained above to open the new window pictured below.

If a stakeholder has a tick marked next to them, the document will have been shared with them. 

There is not a 'Private' option to make the document invisible to all stakeholders. Rather, each stakeholder that you wish to make the document invisible to should be unticked manually. 

To highlight that the document is now invisible to all stakeholders, the 'Visible' from the document's control panel will now have changed to a 'Private' button, as pictured above. 

How Does the Stakeholder Access the Shared Document?

Within the stakeholder's portal is a section titled 'Documents'. Within here will be a list of documents that have been shared with the stakeholder. An example of this is pictured below.

A stakeholder simply has to click on the document to begin downloading it. 


Common Questions

Is there a limit on the number of stakeholders that the document can be shared with?

No, the document can be shared with any stakeholder that has been associated to the matter. 

If a previously 'visible' document is made 'private' again, is a stakeholder still able to access it?

No, once the document has been made invisible to the stakeholder they will no longer be able to access it. 

However, it is important to note that the stakeholder will have been able to download a document at any point that it was shared with them.